Races for general election take shape


By Sarah Pridgeon

With filing dates now closed, the names that will be found on the ballots for county board positions at the upcoming General Election have now been confirmed. Meanwhile, running against Kelly Dennis, winner of the Republican primary ballot, for a four-year term as County Commissioner will be Harold “Stormy” Burch, Independent candidate.

Four positions will be elected for the Crook County School District, one four-year term for towns of Hulett and Moorcroft and two for Sundance.

Peggy K. Howard, Josie D. Pearson, Robert L. Beaudoin, Bob Latham, Keith Haiar and incumbent School Board Trustee Tracy Jones will run for the two Sundance seats. The Hulett seat will go either to Otto D. Schlosser or incumbent trustee Dena Mills, while Thayne Gray will appear on the ballot to retain his trustee seat in Moorcroft.

Three seats will also be elected for the Crook County Medical Services District, again each four-year terms for the three towns of Hulett, Moorcroft and Sundance. Peggy K. Howard and Kristie McNealy will challenge incumbent Roger Jones for the Sundance position, while Connie Lindmier will run for the Hulett seat.

Three four-year trustee positions and two unexpired two-year positions will be elected for the Crook County Museum District. Incumbents DeeLynn Garman, Rodney Knudson and D. Cricket Mills, as well as Sheila R. Semlek and Arlene H. Pixley, will compete for the four-year term, while Catherine Cardarelli, Herb Lenerville, Elisa Gilmartin and incumbent Robert J. Smoot will run for the two-year term.

For the Crook County Natural Resource District, three four-year terms will be elected: one rural, one urban and one at-large. Running for the rural seat is incumbent Wayne W. Garman, with Janice Lumnite Belcher on the ballot for the at-large position and Matt Goodson challenging incumbent Ted Parsons for the urban seat.

The General Elections will take place on Tuesday, November 6.