Commission considers attorneys for Circuit Court Judge position

On behalf of the Judicial Nominating Commission, Wyoming Supreme Court Chief Justice Marilyn S. Kite, who serves as chairman, announced last Friday that the commission has completed its consideration of all the attorneys who have expressed interest in the position of Circuit Court Judge, Sixth Judicial District, Crook and Weston Counties. Pursuant to Article 5, § 4 of the Wyoming Constitution, the Judicial Nominating Commission submitted three nominees for the position to Governor Matthew H. Mead for his consideration. Those nominees, listed in alphabetical order, are: Matthew F.G. Castano, Richard Douglas Dumbrill, Thomas R. Smith.

Governor Mead has thirty days to appoint one of these three nominees to serve as the new district court judge. Current members of the Judicial Nominating Commission are three lawyers elected by the Wyoming State Bar: Bruce A. Salzburg of Cheyenne, Jeremy Michaels of Gillette, and P. Craig Silva of Casper; and three non-lawyers appointed by the governor: Shelly Larson of Lusk, Gina Monk of Gillette, and Janine Thompson of Cheyenne.